Comic Book Movies: The Good, The Meh and The Ugly

Dear Reader,

Comic-based movies have become a phenomenon in recent years. You can’t seem to go a month without a new Marvel or DC movie being announced or released. They’ve become a big business and having seen Wonder Woman earlier this week I’ve been thinking about them a lot these past few days.

I find most of my favorite comic book movies are unrelated to any of the big franchises. Movies like Sin City, Kingsman: The Secret Service and Super to me tend to be the most engaging. What I believe all three of those movies have in common is that they feel like something the director actually wanted to make. Studio interference is minimal and directors got to create there vision.

That’s not to say the big franchises can’t create good movies either. I mean being honest movies like Iron Man, X-Men: Apocalypse and Wonder Woman aren’t necessary terrible. I understand why people enjoy those movies. They’re switch your brain off movies made for the lowest common denominator. Nothing more, nothing less.

I think this years Logan is a perfect example of a movie that rises above it’s peers and is unique. That movie strayed far away from the X-Men franchise, with an emotional story, a depressing, almost dystopian world and gritty violence. I hope the one thing to come out of that movie is that giving directors creative control can be a good thing.

To me the biggest case of studio influence is Suicide Squad. Although I don’t think David Ayer is a brilliant director, having seen most of his movies that were made before Suicide Squad, it’s apparent to me why he was brought on to do Suicide Squad. Most of his movies feature flawed protagonists (or in the case of Sabotage, downright arseholes who you hope get brutally murdered) and a gritty, down to earth feel.

Although I cannot be certain, I can see a version of Suicide Squad that doesn’t necessary involve a blue thing beaming up into the sky and other over the top supernatural things. There’s also one scene in the movie where I’m 99% confident it was reshot so a certain character didn’t die. What I think happened is the studio saw a darker version of Suicide Squad and panicked (especially considering that was one of the big criticisms of Batman Vs Superman) so they decided to do some reshoots.

train wreck

And the result was something like this.

As for the future, I think comic book movies will keep happening so long there’s money for them. Marvel and DC probably have movies planned for at least the next five years or so. I also expect more violent comic book movies due to the success both Deadpool and Logan have received, even though violence isn’t the only thing either movie had going for it.

Regards

Your Writer

 

2 Comments

  1. Comic book films aren’t going away anytime soon, but unless they starting changing the game up, people will get bored of them. Logan is a perfect example of a film that went beyond the boundaries of what a superhero movie could me. Kingsman and Deadpool were over the top and silly, but those movies poked fun at their respective genres and were a welcome breath of fresh air. I hope that in the future, WB and Marvel will be willing to push their films more and not stick to their formulas.

    That said, would you be interested in sharing your work on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to the platform as one of our content creators. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. (o^.^)b

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. I wouldn’t hold my breath for WB or Marvel to do anything but make films for the lowest common denominator. Eventually people will get sick of the movies and then the studios will find something else to milk (my money would be on John Wick knock-offs). Still, there’s plenty of cool comic books out there, many I’m sure I don’t know about, and with the right vision any project can turn out amazing (such as Logan).

      Thanks for the offer, I’ll certainly have a think on it. Expect an email within 24 hours.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

